Senior skaters open new season in Oberstdorf

Nebelhorn Trophy

Senior skaters begin their season with the Nebelhorn Trophy, which will take place in Germany, September 21–24, 2011 in the Eislaufzentrum, Oberstdorf.

Nebelhorn Trophy tournament is an annual and traditional international competition of figure skating, which organized by the German figure skating federation in the Bavarian town of Oberstdorf. Typically, this is the first international competition of the year among senior skaters. The tournament is named after a nearby mountain – Nebelhorn.

Skaters compete in men’s and ladies’ single skating, pair skating, and ice dancing.

Nebelhorn Trophy has been held regularly since 1969 and, thus, is one of the oldest international competitions in figure skating. In the 1970s – 1990s, when there was no Junior Grand Prix series, Nebelhorn Trophy frequently became the first international senior’s start for the junior skaters.

The 2009 competition was used as the final Olympic qualifying competition.

The winners’ list of Nebelhorn Trophy includes such well-known names as Todd Eldredge, Ilia Kulik, Stephane Lambiel, Dorothy Hamill, Irina Slutskaya, Shizuka Arakawa, Jayne Torvill / Christopher Dean, Maya Usova / Alexander Zhulin, Shae-Lynn Bourne / Victor Kraatz and many other world legends of figure skating.

This year, the main favorites of this tournament are: Mirai Nagasu (USA), Ksenia Makarova (RUS), Zhiganshina / Gazsi (GER), Volosozhar / Trankov (RUS), Denney / Coughlin (USA), Michal Brezina (CZE), Konstantin Menshov (RUS), Javier Fernandez (ESP).

Despite the fact that we know favorites, this does not mean that the surprises are excluded. Modern figure skating is an unpredictable sport. So, let the season begin!

Author: Vladislav Luchianov

WFS - An independent online sports magazine