Finlandia Trophy attracts world top skaters

Finlandia Trophy 2013

By Finnish Figure Skating Association

The international figure skating competition, Finlandia Trophy Espoo, will be held 4-6 October 2013.

The upcoming Olympic season and convenient timing just before the ISU Grand Prix series attracts many top skaters to launch their season in Espoo. Among the total of 150 skaters some of the brightest stars will be defending their titles from the last year.

Canadian ice dancers Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir, Olympic and World Champions, won the Finlandia Trophy 2011 but withdrew from last year´s competition due to the injury of Moir. Canadians will face among the others the European Champions and the World bronze medalists Ekaterina Bobrova and Dimitri Soloviev (update: they withdrew due to Soloviev’s micro injury). The Russians won the Trophy last year.

Russia will send the young but most talented trio to Espoo: dazzling Julia Lipnitskaia the winner of the last year´s Finlandia Trophy, European bronze medalist Elizaveta Tuktamysheva and Nikol Gosviani.

Japan´s Akiko Suzuki, the World bronze medalist 2012, will challenge the Russian teenagers together with American Mirai Nagasu who placed fourth in Olympics 2010.

The winner of the last year´s Trophy, Japanese Yuzuru Hanyu, will come to test and tune not only his quadruples but the new programs in front of the Finnish audience. The most interesting name out of the three Russian contenders is Artur Gachinski, the European silver medalist of 2012. And there are many more.

As year before, the synchronized skating is part of the competition again. The reigning World Champion Finland´s Team Unique, multiple World Champions Rockettes and Marigold IceUnity and Revolutions from Espoo will be challenged by Team Paradise from Russia. Synchronized skaters compete only in Short Programs.

All entries, schedule and more info>>>

WFS - An independent online sports magazine